Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Flex Messaging

Former Community Member

Hi,

I am new to Flex and Flex dataservices. I have to write an application where flash clients have to update themselves when they receive messages (real-time) from a J2EE server (Glassfish) through BlazeDS.

I tried to implement this via the mx:producer/mx:consumer paradigm. I used some of the code from  the "chat" tutorial to achieve this.

When I ran it in the browser (Internet Explorer 6), the flash client(s) did not receive the messages that I send either via a flash producer nor via a servlet from the J2EE server. However, if I press <F5> (refresh) in the browser to do a refresh, from that moment on, all the messages that are send, are received by the flash application in the browser.

Why do I have to do a refresh? Does this look like a coding error?

Any help is very much appreciated.

Petran.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 3

Hi,

Inside messaging-config.xml try to use the channels if you use my-polling-amf try to set the

<polling-enabled>true</polling-enabled>
                <polling-interval-seconds>1</polling-interval-seconds>

Code in messaging-config.xml:

<destination id="messagesForFlex" >
                       <channels>
                           <channel ref="my-polling-amf" />
                       </channels>
                      </destination>

Also you can use ServerPush for this type of applications.

View solution in original post

2 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 3

Hi,

Inside messaging-config.xml try to use the channels if you use my-polling-amf try to set the

<polling-enabled>true</polling-enabled>
                <polling-interval-seconds>1</polling-interval-seconds>

Code in messaging-config.xml:

<destination id="messagesForFlex" >
                       <channels>
                           <channel ref="my-polling-amf" />
                       </channels>
                      </destination>