Expand my Community achievements bar.

Data Extraction from PDF

Level 3

I am creating a large PDF form that people will fill out, save, and return to us. I am wondering if there is a simple method to extract the data from the PDF and store the values in a database (excel or access).

I can program in java if needed, but I'd prefer a simpler solution if one exists.

7 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

Before you deploy the form, you can set up data connections. This would more commonly be to a database, such as SQL or Access, but you can also connect to a spreadsheet.

When processing the data/connecting to the database, the user connecting to the database will need the full version of Acrobat, OR the form would need to be Reader Enabled using the full Reader Extensions server component.

I would recommend Stefan Cameron's blog, which has solutions and examples: http://forms.stefcameron.com/.

Good luck,

Niall

Level 3

I appreciate the help. I am still a novice with livecycle designer.

Can you explain, in english, how a data connection works? Could you point me to any relevant tutorials?

The users themselves will not be connecting to a database. The pdf's will all be saved locally on my computer, I simply need a way of automating the extraction of the data into a format that lends itself better to being searched and analyzed.

Thanks

Level 4

Niall is correct for a direct-connected form. But there are a wider variety of choices that you may want to play with:

• Use the distribute and collect features of forms in Acrobat and Acrobat.com.  This gives an automated way to bring all of the data together for you.  You can see this at http://formcentral.acrobat.com/ or Tools/Forms/Distribute in Acrobat X.
  • Directly connect your form as Niall suggested; you'll need to reader-extend with the server product to enable this data access with Reader, or use full
  • Gather the data results from form submissions (HTTP post)