Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Custom OR Automatic TAB ORDER ?

Level 4

Hi,

I am new to LC Designer. I am developing an multipage PDF form. It's having both static & dynamic fields (conditional). Count of fields is around 100. I was going through the TAB Order, and I found there are two types of TAB ORDERING available i.e. Automatic & Custom. I don't know what to opt from these available options.

My Ques: Which TAB ORDER should be used @ which time?

pls answer.

Thanks.

-

Abhinav

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi Abhinav,

My personal preference is for automatic tab order. I find that when you go for a custom tab order, it can go out of sync as more objects are added to the form. The custom order can be re-established, but it can be tedious.

In automatic mode the tabbing order is very much affected by the relative x/y coordinates of objects working from the top left of the form. If an object on the right is even a fraction higher than an object on the left, then it will get focus first. This highlights the benefit of using the snap to grid feature in LC Designer. The other thing to remember is that once the tab goes into a subform, it will work its way through all the objects in the subform before coming out to resume with the rest of the form. This can be handy to control the tabbing order.

There is an example here looking at some of the issues:

http://www.assuredynamics.com/index.php/category/portfolio/tabbing-order/

Hope that helps,

Niall

Assure Dynamics

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi Abhinav,

My personal preference is for automatic tab order. I find that when you go for a custom tab order, it can go out of sync as more objects are added to the form. The custom order can be re-established, but it can be tedious.