Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Creating a Fillable/Savable PDF: simple question?

Level 1

[Thread Edited By Adobe]

/*Don’t forget to meet and greet your fellow peers virtually by telling them about yourself here

Go ahead and to it now: https://adobe.ly/3eDnB4v */

Actual Question:

Hello-

I'm new to Acrobat and LiveCycle Designer.  I have just created my first form with fillable fields in LifeCycle to send to my company's clients for them to fill out, save the form with their responses in the fields for their own records, and then attach the completed PDF form to an email to send back to us with their responses in the fields.  I cannot figure out how to do this.  The closest I can come to this is putting a "Submit by Email" button in the form which generates and sends an XML document which is not what I'm looking for; I need the actual filled PDF form sent back to me from the client.

I'm sure this is an easy task, but I have been unsuccessful with figuring this out on my own or finding a post in the forum which clearly answers my questions.

I'm using Acrobat 9 Pro and LiveCycle Designer ES version 8

Can you help me?  I'm lost.

Thanks-

Michael

32 Replies

Level 10

You can place a normal Button control on to the form and change the Control Type to Submit. Then goto Submit tab in the properties and change the Submit AS to PDF instead of XML. This way you can send PDF as an email attachment.

For your reference, see the attached file..

https://acrobat.com/#d=CK4QgXn38l49bzQlhWtKSA

Thanks

Srini

Level 1

Srini-

Thank you for your response, but I'm afraid I'm somewhat confused.

I opened your attached Send CC Email.pdf file in LiveCycle Designer to take a detailed look at it and found the setting you referenced under the Submit tab:

Object Pallet.png