Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

Create expandable text boxes & maintain Indesign interactive features

Level 1

I have a form created in indesign which has interactive buttons included. I exported to pdf and now need to add expandable text boxes. I tried to do this in Livecycle but when i imported the pdf as a flowable form (with a view to make it dynamic) the interactive buttons i had created disappeared. is there a way around this so that i can create expandable text boxes but still maintain the buttons i have created?

PS i am completely new to Livecycle

7 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

I would be inclined to import the InDesign as a JPEG background (on the master page). While interactive buttons generated with InDesign come into Acrobat OK, in my experience they do not import into LC Designer. Some of your buttons may come through, but you will need to update your script to be compliant with the particular flavour / syntax of Javascript that LC Designer uses. There are plenty of LC Javascript guides on the Adobe web site.

If you get your artwork into LC, then you can recreate the interactive buttons in LC. Just make the buttons with no fill and no border and place them over the static InDesign buttons.

Difficulties with your (static) artwork may happen when you introduce expanding textfields. It depends on the level of detail.

Not much good to you, I hope you get it working,

N.

Level 1

Hi Niall

thanks for your help i have done as you suggested and things seem to be woring ok. One thing however the buttons that i have recreated in livecycle are supposed to direct the user to specific pages. how do i get the buttons to go to a page in the same document and if my form is dynamic and the page numbers change will the buttons still direct to the correct page?

R

Level 1

Hi Niall

thanks again for your help.