Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Create digital initials after signing a form using a signature field.

Level 1

Without problems, I can create and populate signatures using my Common Access Card (CAC), even place the current date in a corresponding field nearby after signing. However, I would like to digitally initial forms. That is, digitally sign the form with a digital signature, but extract my initials (certificate) from my CAC and populate a filed on my form. I am a designer for the Army, and we often using digital initials to sign our forms. That is, we use a digital signature to sign a form, and at the same time, populates a field on my form that accesses my certificate from my CAC and populates that field with my initials.

6 Replies

Former Community Member

Anyone ever figure out a solution for this issue? I too am looking for a digital signature consisting of the user's initials rather than the large digital signature block.

bsabourin1962 you mentioned you were a designer for the army. As a prior service member myself I can only assume this was in preparation of the form conversion from .xfdl to fillable .pdfs . Has your organization found a workaround for this?

Level 1

I too would like to know if there is a specific command using JavaScript or another program similar to create a PDF form that is able to extract initials from a digital signature and insert into the same document.

Level 1

How did you get it to just pull CAC?  Right now its just pulling my creds from the computer and not my CAC creds.

Level 1

I'm an app developer and someone in my chain of command showed me an eval form (A7222_1.pdf) that had this initials feature.  Unfortunately, that form was locked, so couldn't look at the code.