I need a new instance of this subform:

assessment.Page3.Standards.Standardsdetail

to be created when this button is clicked:

assessment.Page3.addanotherstandard.Button1

I tried this code on the button:

xfa.form.assessment.Page3.Standards.Standardsdetail.addInstance(

true);

but it doesn't work.

I'm a newbie and I'm trying to learn how to do all this as I go with the help of the book Creating Dynamic Forms with Adobe LiveCycle Designer, but I can't seem to figure this one out.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

On the subform that is supposed to be repeating you have to indicate that you will allow more than one. Click on the subform in the hierarchy, then on the Object/Binding tab click the checkbox that says Repeat Subform for Each Data Item.

Paul

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Former Community Member

You need to reference the instance manager for "Standardsdetail" either explicitly

xfa.form.assessment.Page3.Standards.Standardsdetail.instanceManager.addInstance(1);

or using the underscore syntax

xfa.form.assessment.Page3.Standards._Standardsdetail.addInstance(1);

where _Standardsdetail is short for Standardsdetail.instanceManager.

Level 4

Thank you for your quick reply. Do I need to create an instance manager somewhere, or is that built in? How do I do that?

Former Community Member

the Instance Manager is a built in property (method/function?) of any object or subform in the form.

It's pretty cool because you can also then get details like [whatever thing is repeating].instanceManager.count to get the total number you have spawned.

Be forwarned though, if at any point you have Zero instances of the subform, the non-underscore referencing will fail. If that is a possible situation, just use the underscore syntax to directly reference the instance manager, without having to look at any specific instance.

Level 4