Expand my Community achievements bar.

Complete novice needing help with simple date/time functions

Level 1

I will admit off the bat that I don't even know what javascript is.

I am making a fillable form for people that will most likely print it off, write on it, and hand it back to me, so I don't want to spend a lot of time on it, but I LOVE fillable forms, and have successfully distributed a couple of different ones.

Now I am tackling a 2 week timesheet, and I am all messed up over the dates.

I have a date field for Sunday, and after the supervisor chooses that date, it would be great if the other fields could auto-fill across, but I cannot figure out how to do that, even using help.

And this might sound really stupid, but I cannot get a date/time field to act as a time field. It only wants to do dates. I tried entering the pattern as time {HH:mm} and every other variation that I saw in the Help feature, but it keeps saying that it's an invalid pattern.

I am making a date/time object, and in its display pattern, I am entering the type of format I want. Is this totally wrong?

Ideally, I want to have a simple box where you enter the start time as 7:00 a.m, then the end time as 3:00 p.m, the next box as length of lunchbreak, like 1:00 or 0:30, and have it automatically calculate the number of hours worked per day less the break.

Is even something I should attempt to try? I am trying to muddle through on my own, I thought it would be relatively easy, like excel would be, but I am lost.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated!

5 Replies

Former Community Member

The attached 'GetDaysStartingSunday.pdf' produces the following results:

p1.png