Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

can LiveCycle reference value of a new instance in rum-time

Former Community Member

I am a novice at LiveCycle Designer and I am needing to have my form reference a specific value, should it be entered (recognizing key words), by a user in an add instance, at run-time. Can LiveCycle even do this? And I can be more specific with an example if this doesn't make sense. If you can help, I'd very much appreciate it!

6 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

I don't understand what you are trying to do, but calling the addInstance() returns the instance of the subform (or row) you have just added.  So if I had a repeating subform called Subform1 which contained a text field called TextField1 then I could set the value of that field with.

var newInstance = _Subform1.addInstance();

newInstance.TextField1.rawValue = "some text";

Given a text field you can test if it contains a string with

if (/keyword/.test(Subform1.TextField1.rawValue))

{

console.println("match");

}

else

{

console.println("no match");

}

This will print "match" on the console if TextField1 contains the string "keyword" anywhere within it.

What I don't understand is how you want to use these two pieces of code.

Regards

Bruce

Former Community Member

Hi Bruce,