Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

Automatically moving from one text field to another

Level 1

I am just new to Livecycle and am trying to create a 2-page form that will be filled-in and then printed. I want the user to be able to type in to a text field on the first page of the form, and if they continue to type, to automatically jump to the text field on the second page.

Is there any way of doing this?

3 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

The standard approach is to set up the tabbing order, so that the user tabs from one field to the next. This will span pages, so that when the user tabs from the last field on page one, then will land inside the first field on page two.

There is a command setFocus, which you can use to change the focus onto a particular field, but you would need to decide what is going to trigger that command. For example when a field on page one is full?

Sometimes it is better to leave it to the user to navigate the form. If the focus suddenly changes to a different field the user may get confused or they may not notice that they are in a new field, if they are looking down at the keyboard.

So, tabbing is preferred option, otherwise have a look in the help file for setFocus.

Good luck,

Niall

Level 3

Thanks for that Niall. Is there a trick to having the user be able to tab from the last field on one page to the first field on the next page? I'm having trouble finding out how to make that work.

Level 10

Hi,

Tabbing by default is set to automatic. The thing to remember is that the tabbing sequence from one field to another is affected by the relative x/y coordinates of objects, working from the top-left to the bottom-right. For example if an object on the right of the form is even a fraction higher than one on the left, it will receive focus first.