Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.
SOLVED

Add pop up information after button/script is executed.

Level 2

Can you add a pop up with information after a button is executed?  I'm new to LiveCycle and have, with help from this forum, created a button that locks fillable form fields upon execution.  What I'm wondering is if a pop up can be added after button execution advising the user to save the form with a different file name (to retain base form for future use) before finalizing the document.

For example, we've created a quotation form to send out to our field to use when preparing quotes for customers.  Before they email the quote to the customer, I've added the button to lock the fields first.  However, if I got this right, and they save the form, without doing a save as another file name, they will eliminate the ability to use the base form again.

I was also wondering if the button could be eliminated during the save as another file name process (so the end recipient doesn't see the button at all).

Hope I've explained this clearly enough.

Any other thoughts on how other form creators have accomplished similar tasks would be appreciated too.

Thanks!!!!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

A button has three events that are associated with a user clicking the button:
      mouseDown
      mouseUp
      click

It is generally not a good idea to put script that changes the form or data in the mouseDown event because it does something before the user has fully committed to the click action. In other words the user could click down on the button and then change their mind and move the mouse off the button before they release the click.