Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Submit form with attachments

Level 4
hi..

I have to develop a process that submits a form with attachments.

My question is, can we extract the attachments from the subbmitted form? If yes, in which format the attachments will be extracted?

If no, how will the form be submitted, can it be converted to xml or will it remain as pdf only?

I am new to LiveCycle, kindly provide me the suggestions...

Thanks and Regards,

Ambika
11 Replies

Level 10
"can we extract the attachments from the submitted form?"

Yes. Look at the Attachments property of the processFormSubmission operation of the Forms service.

"If yes, in which format the attachments will be extracted?"

They will be extracted in a list object of subtype "document". The document object is an Adobe proprietary data type that can contain pretty much anything. In your case it'll most likely contain a byte[] representation of your documents.

Jasmin

Level 4
Thanks Jasmin. This has helped me a lot...

There is one more thing, i will like to clear out, can a form submitted with attachments be converted to xml for saving into DB or will it remain in pdf format only?

Thanks and Regards,

Ambika

Level 10
Why don't you just save the PDF as a BLOB in the database?

I don't think going to XML would be the right thing to do.

Jasmin

Level 9
Hi Ambika

Two points:

1. You can extract the XML from a PDF form. Use the submit operation in the Forms service.

2. If you're using process management, you can enable a separate tab in Workspace which handles attachments nicely. Usually a better option than trying to embed them in the PDF.

Howard

http://www.avoka.com

Level 4
Thanks Jasmin n Howard...