Expand my Community achievements bar.

MAking text fields required using JavaScript

Former Community Member
I have several radio button groups where, if one of the buttoms is selected, a text box becomes visible. I would like to kame these text boxes required. I am brand new at this and it took me several days to figure out that in order to make the presence = "visible" work I had to save the form as an xdp file. I am way behind on this project. Can anyone tell me how to make these text boxes required?

Thanks!

Nelson
28 Replies

Former Community Member
You can assign the following values to the mandatory property in either FormCalc or JavaScript (no difference):

• "disabled" -- makes the field "optional".

• "warning" -- warns the user that the field should be filled but doesn't cause an error (i.e. form can still be submitted).

• "error" -- makes the field required.

As for performance when it comes to changing the presence of fields on a form with over 400 objects, it wouldn't surprise me if this was
expected (I'm certainly not saying it's
acceptable, just that it may be
expected) performance.

Stefan

Adobe Systems

Former Community Member
Thanks!

Any idea why making fields visible takes so much longer than making them mandatory?

Nelson

Former Community Member
> Any idea why making fields visible takes so much longer than making

> them mandatory?

Yes, as I mentioned when you set a field to visible Acrobat has to recompute the layout of the PDF to account for the new field. That takes time. Setting something to mandatory just involves setting a property on the field and then there's no more work.

Chris

Adobe Enteprise Developer Support

Former Community Member
Hi,

I've been trying to customize the error message and I've tried using examples from this post. I always get a generic message saying some field hasn't been filled in, but never the message I've tried to implement.

Here's my code:

TextField1.mandatory = "error"