Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

HTTP submit button

Former Community Member
Hi all,

I am new to designer and am working to change our static PDF files to interactive ones. The goal would be for a user to fill out the form then submit it to our website, which would place it in a database. I am running IIS 5.0 and have used ASP, but am not sure what form the PDF information will take or how to make use of it. Any suggestions or hints would be very appriciated.

Casey
15 Replies

Former Community Member
You can have it submit an XML structure, or post the data as if it was a web form (then the field names in the form become the form keys).

If you have it post the XML structure, the XML structure is posted in the body of the request.

Former Community Member
Joseph,

Thanks for the reply. After much web searching on Wednesday (and more frustration than I care to remember) I found out that when the PDF is uploaded via the POST button, it sends its information in an annoying format. The best way to find how to get it is to do a request.form() with nothing in the parathesis, that way it pulls everything that is being sent to the page. (Be sure to output this). Then do a search for the name of the form box you are trying to retrieve info from. It will list the form name and subsection before it with lots of "%" (Its UTF-8). Copy the stuff before the field you want as well as the field name and that should reference it correctly to pull the given user information.

If anybody knows of a simpler way to do this I would be happy to hear it, but for now it seems to be the only way to get the user input.

Casey

Level 7
Casey,

What is this annoying format - what are the first few lines?

What format did you choose to submit in?

Aandi Inston

Former Community Member
Aandi,
<br />