Expand my Community achievements bar.

Form Guide

Former Community Member
I am new at this form guide.

1) I want two text fields right next to each using only the first caption.

i.e. Tel Number [code] [number]

2) How can you edit a radio button value on the form guide after you have binded it to your form object?

Could anyone assist please.

Thanks
6 Replies

Former Community Member
Penny,

1) The only easy way to do this is to create a custom layout (see http://www.adobe.com/go/learn_lc_fgCustomizing). You could copy a One Column layout and then change the VBox that wraps the PanelItem to a HBox. This way you can layout items horizontally until a Next Area item is encountered.

2) The beauty about Form Guides is that you don't (usually) have to do anything special to edit values / presences in the Form Guide - they are driven off the value / presence in the underlying PDF.

In your radio button, you could do something in the calculate event like "if (this.rawValue == 1 && this.resolveNode("someOtherField").rawValue == "somethingElse") { this.rawValue = "2"; }". This will force the value of the radio button to 2 in both the PDF and the Form Guide (based on your business logic).

John.

Former Community Member
Hi John thanks for the response. I will definately try this.

Another question I have, is the form guide is saved as a swc file, how do we get it to become a flash file? Or should I say how does the end user use/access this form guide? I am new at this forms guide, so still learning.

Thanks

Penny

Former Community Member
Designer ES will actually compile a .swf (Flash movie) for you when you preview the form guide. It is located at {your profile directory}\Application Data\Adobe\Designer\8.1\GuideBuilder.