Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Dynamic addition of text fields in PDF form? (Acrobat Pro DC)

Former Community Member

I am fairly new to Adobe Acrobat Pro (most of my experience is with Reader). I would like to create a Technical Design Document template PDF form in Adobe Acrobat for my future projects where I work. The problem, however, is that not all projects have the same number of key components / component sets. I would need to be able to dynamically adjust the number of form fields based on the number entries in the components list. I *could* do something like this in Excel... but that's just not very clean and is rather painful to look at with all those cells... I would much rather be able to do this in a PDF form.

Now, I was told by a colleague some time ago that it is possible for Adobe Acrobat to dynamically create textfields based on the number of entries made in another field. How exactly can I achieve this? I have looked through the available form fields and properties, but could not find a way of doing this...

Details of what I would like to be able to achieve:

-A user enters the names or IDs of parts in this field-
  1. Part A556
  2. Part B69
  3. Part A103
  4. Shell

-Acrobat dynamically creates text field sets for each entry above-

1.0 Component Identifier

• Part A556

1.1 Type

• <blank form field>

1.2 Purpose

• <blank form field>

1.3 Function

• <blank form field>
-etc... to 1.10-

2.0 Component Identifier

• Part B69

2.1 Type

• <blank form field>

2.2 Purpose

• <blank form field>

2.3 Function

• <blank form field>
-etc... to 1.10-

Until the last item of the first mentioned field. Each component could begin its own page, but that is just an option.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to your responses and help.

3 Replies

Level 4