Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

Automatic posting of data from form into Access

Former Community Member
I am very new to Designer, and my programming experience is archaic, so I need a little help.

I am trying to see if there is a way to post data from a form directly to a specific Access database and table. I want to avoid having to actually open up Access, choose the database, then choose import from XML and select the appropriate option. I just want to click submit, and have the data automatically populate the right table.

Is there any current method to accomplish this?
7 Replies

Former Community Member
You can create an ASP page on your internet server.

The ASP page will collect the data an wright it to the access (jet engine or SQL-server) database.

/Ulf

Former Community Member
The Adobe Press book "Extending Acrobat Forms with Javascript" by John Deubert shows you how to do this. I used the book to do what you wanted (not through ASP or a webpage, but from a submit button on the PDF which opened a connection to an access database on the local network and added records to a table.) The book has nothing to do with Designer, just with Acrobat Professional. I'm now trying to "convert" the forms I made to a Designer version. There are some differences between javascript programed within the acrobat form and javascript programmed within Designer, so if you decide to get the book you might want to follow the examples first without using Designer, and then see what happens when you code the same thing in Designer.

Level 4