Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Transitioning form Front-End to AEM Developer - Troubles with Components, Parsys & more!

Level 4

Please help, for I am getting awfully frustrated... crying I am adding lots of information here but am putting my real questions as bullets. I can't be the only one who is having this much trouble.

I am a web developer with many years of Front End experience. I have worked with PHP and Node.JS for back end logic and I have made the jump to become an AEM developer. This transition is ROUGH!

The documentation here seems to spin me in circles.

Now I am hitting some serious road blocks. I can't get Parsys to work, at all.

When I first started and ran through http://docs.adobe.com/docs/en/aem/6-0/develop/the-basics/website.html it was pretty straight forward, but that doesn't use the Granite UI...

Copying that same technique I created a site but was never able to list ANY components on the component view. I just want that nice dashed line that says... Drop Components Here so authors could add text, but when I added the code for Parsys it was showing up as a single border that does not seem to be correct. See the attached image.

• Why could I not see any components in the components tab?

Moving forward...

So things have been progressing. I get how to setup a project, but its giving me multiple projects. I get that. I will be mainly working in the xx.ui.apps project.

Currently I have created a site that is based off the AEM Archetype Multi-Module 7. I have gotten Eclipse up and running and can sync to the JCR. I have created a simple page component that has some includes for things like my header and footer.