Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

Make a API call on page load and use across all components in the Page

Level 2

Hi All,

I am new to the AEM World. What is the best way to make a api all on page load and use the data from the api on all the components in the page. 

Note: Currently I have a OSGI Service and a model that is invokes the OSGi call. Not sure what is the correct design approach.

Thanks,

Rajakumar

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Community Advisor

Hi @rajakumare1 ,

Consider below approach -

At a page level, preferably in a Page component Model you can make an API call and save the API response in the request object attribute. Specifically like,

String apiResponse = customService.getResponse();
// Set the api response to the request object attribute
request.setAttribute("result", apiResponse);

To reuse this in component, read the attribute value from the request object itself in the corresponding Sling Model for the component. Sample code below:

// To get the request object
@SlingObject
SlingHttpServletRequest request;
// To read the API response
String apiResponse = request.getAttribute("result");

This way, your API will be invoked only once, as the Page component model executes only once per page load and the response can then be reused across any component on the page.

Hope this helps!

Thanks,

Fani

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Community Advisor

Hi @rajakumare1,

I am not sure if you are wanting to trigger the API call on a particular page or every page with particular resource type.

You can do the below things:

1. You can trigger an ajax call on the page load and call the servlet
  2. You can trigger a servlet on page resource type
    1. Issue: Triggers on every page with the same resource