Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!
SOLVED

Marketing Channels - "None" value appears in Marketing Channel Detail for Paid Search

Level 2

Hi,

I have come an across issue with the Marketing Channels where Paid Search in Workspace report was showing among other correct values (as defined in the Marketing Channel rules) also the "None" value and I just can't see why. I am pretty new to Adobe Analytics so it is very likely that I am missing something out.

Here is my Paid Search rule:

paid search rule.PNG

The query string parameters all begin with cid followed by the channel identification code. In case of paid search it is cid=cpc. (social is cid=social etc.) so I have set up the Paid Search detection rules like this  (search engine "any" and query string contains cid=cpc and other containing just cpc - don't know what is the proper syntax, but I suppose these should both work): 

paid search detection rules.PNG

In my report, I had Marketing Channel selected as the primary dimension which was further broken down by Marketing Channel Detail and Marketing Channel Instances set as metric. Now, after some investigation, I have to come to a conclusion that the "None" values in Paid Search had no Search engine assigned (when broken down by this dimension) so I made other channel Paid - no search engine which is defined by this rule set:

paid search no search engine rule.PNG