Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!
SOLVED

Click discrepancy.

Level 1

Hi All.

I am relatively new to Adobe analytics, having always used GA. I have run numerous campaigns across various channels from Google ads to programmatic display and i consistently huge discrepancy in click data, all activity has been tagged correctly so i am at a loss as to what would cause this, any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

There is always discrepancy, and there are plenty of causing factors. Some of them are as follows:

• click fraud
  • ad blockers (block tag managers and analytics beacons)
  • slow server response/ slow internet connection on visitor's side (click happened, but browser window got closed earlier than the page was loaded)
  • server-side redirects that cut off the query string with tracking parameters
  • analytics code failure

What is the average discrepancy you observe?

View solution in original post

6 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

There is always discrepancy, and there are plenty of causing factors. Some of them are as follows:

• click fraud
  • ad blockers (block tag managers and analytics beacons)
  • slow server response/ slow internet connection on visitor's side (click happened, but browser window got closed earlier than the page was loaded)
  • server-side redirects that cut off the query string with tracking parameters
  • analytics code failure

What is the average discrepancy you observe?

Level 1

thank you for your response, usually its around 50% lower than what the search engines are reporting.

Level 10

Does this ratio persist across ad platforms and GEOs?

Community Advisor