Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Adobe Launch - how to capture link URL on a click action?

Level 2

Dear community,

I'm rather new to Adobe Launch and therefore, probably an obvious question:

• I need to track some links in a custom way in Adobe Analytics via Adobe Launch.
  • I have a rule that triggers s.tl() tracking call with custom link with a specific value
  • I see in AA debugger that the link URL is sent in the call (see picture) but I can't retrieve this in AA reporting (not part of standard variables?)
  • Therefore I would like to capture the target URL (href value) of the clicked links in custom variable 
  • How can I do this? How to create a data element that returns the value for link HREF when clicked? Custom code?

I've been working for years with GTM and there it is pretty straightforward - these are built-in variables (link text, link href,...) without any coding.

Any help would be welcome

Thanks.

Note: I have found this article: https://experienceleaguecommunities.adobe.com/t5/dynamic-tag-management-questions/how-to-track-the-c... but it looks outdated (old DTM interface)

Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 4

Go to Your Web Property

Create a Rule

Add event type Click 

Add specific element, add CSS selector value for that link (example for anchor a)

Define your variable eVar/prop for URL

example eVar1 is for URL

In set variable eVar1 = %this.href%

If needed I can share screenshots for more clarification.

View solution in original post

8 Replies

Employee

Hi @MichaelNotte if you use Custom Code in the Action of the Rule, you can access two variables:

- event: that is the JS object of the event triggered. "event.target" is the DOM object where you clicked and from there you can retrieve the URL