Expand my Community achievements bar.

Join us for the next Community Q&A Coffee Break on Tuesday April 23, 2024 with Eric Matisoff, Principal Evangelist, Analytics & Data Science, who will join us to discuss all the big news and announcements from Summit 2024!

Launch Video Heartbeat integration with Vimeo

Level 1

Being fairly new to Adobe analytics and video heartbeat (via the Adobe Media Analytics Extension), I've managed to cobble together a rudimentary integration with Vimeo. However, I've reached the limit of my skill. I'm a backend developer by trade with basic-intermediate knowledge of javascript.

I'm having an issue with the mediaDelegate object and getCurrentPlaybackTime. The cut-down code I've got is as follows:

var mediaDelegate = new MAO.MediaHeartbeatDelegate();

var mediaObject = MAO.MediaHeartbeat.createMediaObject(videoTitle, videoId, duration, "VOD", "Video");

mediaDelegate.getCurrentPlaybackTimefunction() {  return 10; };

MAO.MediaHeartbeat.getInstance(mediaDelegate, { playerName: playerName })

.then(function (instance) {

self._mediaHeartbeat = instance;

instance.trackSessionStart(mediaObject, {});

});

The problem I'm having is with the line mediaDelegate.getCurrentPlaybackTimefunction() {  return 10; };

With youtube, it was simple, I call mediaDelegate.getCurrentPlaybackTime = function () { return player.getCurrentTime(); };

With Vimeo, it uses async promises, but I can't call mediaDelegate.getCurrentPlaybackTimefunction() {  player.getCurrentTime().then(function(seconds) { return seconds; }); }; - this just chokes with:

[INFO] [plugin::player] Data from delegate > VideoInfo: playerName=Vimeo Player, id=6370469, name=my video, length=30, playhead=undefined, mediaType=video, streamType=VOD, resumed=false

playhead is undefined instead of the current playtime (like it does with Youtube).

Any help is appreciated.

Stu

UPDATE