Expand my Community achievements bar.

The next phase for Workfront Community ideas is coming soon. Learn all about it in our blog!

Help With Calculation Predicting Total Hours Spent - Different from EAC

Level 4
Hi All, I am new to WF, currently in the middle of my integration, planning to go live in the next 5 weeks. I am struggling with a calculation that is critical to project health. What I am looking for is a calculation that adds the total number of hours that have submitted against a project in the timesheet (Actual Hours) plus the hours that are still assigned to a resource or role in the future. It is fine if this calculation can only occur on the project level (in fact it may be better in my case). Almost 100% of our projects are a fixed budget with a fixed amount of hours, using this calculation will allow me to determine lots of other metrics including: True % complete (dividing actual hours by this calculation) Actual Effective Bill Rate (dividing the $ Budget by this calculation) % over or under hours budget Etc. Ideally, the calculation would be: Actual Hours - From the start of the project through the end of the previous week PLUS Scheduled Hours - Current week until the end of the project I can live with it if the future scheduled hours need to use today as the start point. The EAC calculation comes close to doing this, but too much is dependant on the team actually updating the % complete on the task level, which I assume will not actually happen without lots of prodding. Kris Murphy Bluecadet
Topics

Topics help categorize Community content and increase your ability to discover relevant content.

5 Replies

Level 3

Kris,