Expand my Community achievements bar.

Permission versions in Workfront Proof

Avatar

Level 2

1/31/23

I'd love the ability to permission people/roles from seeing previous versions of a proof in Workfront Proof. For example, we start routing a proof internally and it goes through several rounds of proofing. Now it's ready for the client to see it. I'd love to send the most recent approved version to the client for review but don't want them to have access to the previous versions. They mark that up, edits are made, another couple rounds of internal review and then the approved version goes back to client. At that point they only have access to the versions of the proof they were a part of.

 

Why is this feature important to me? This would allow us to have one document that spans the entire life of the project but would prevent clients from seeing all of the back and forth that happened to get that piece approved. To accomplish this in the current state we have to create a clean document to send over for client review. When we go that route we are left with 2 unappealing options:

1. Have multiple documents for the same deliverable or

2. Someone has to transfer all of the client markups back to the original document's proof.

3 Comments

Avatar

Level 2

1/31/23

@hrochette Thank you. The problem is that I want most of the recipients to see the previous versions. I just want some of them not to. I haven't seen that feature available. When I'm adding proof recipients I'd like to be able to do the permissioning you sent at the user level instead of the proof level. For example, I'd like the creative team to see previous versions but not the client. Currently we have to set up a separate document to allow for that workflow. Having this capability will allow us to keep everything to one document.

Avatar

Level 3

5/8/23

We have the same problem. Any easy solutions to allow external clients to only have access to a single version with a basic workflow? We want to keep the proof versions together from start to finish, but when a finalized version is ready to send to the client, we want that link to only give access to that version and its comments (no prior or future versions). We have Subscriptions enabled on the proofs by default, so everyone does get added as a reviewer that accesses the proof via the shareable link.