Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Validate Numeric Field - Can be 10, 20, or 30

Level 3

I'm using LiveCycle Designer ES (Version 8.2).

I have a numeric field that can contain a 10, 20, or 30. It can also be empty and I guess, a zero would be okay too.

How could I accomplish this, given I'm a newbie here?

Thank you for the feedback.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

If your input is limited to just 10, 20 or 30, then you could use a dropdown list instead of a numeric field.

A dropdown list is good when you want to ensure that the user only inputs pre-defined values and in set formats/patterns.

Set up the dropdown list items in the Object panel and untick "Allow cistom entry". Then go to the Binding panel and tick the "specify values" box. Assign a value of 10 to "10", etc.

You will be able to refer to the rawValue of the dropdown in subsequent script, just as you would with a numeric field.

If you want to go with the numeric field, you could set up a Javascript in its exit event:

if (this.rawValue == 10 || this.rawValue == 20 || this.rawValue == 30)
{
    // do nothing
}
else
{
     app.alert("Invalid data entry: you must enter either 10, 20 or 30");
     this.rawValue = null;
}

Good luck,

Niall

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

If your input is limited to just 10, 20 or 30, then you could use a dropdown list instead of a numeric field.

A dropdown list is good when you want to ensure that the user only inputs pre-defined values and in set formats/patterns.

Set up the dropdown list items in the Object panel and untick "Allow cistom entry". Then go to the Binding panel and tick the "specify values" box. Assign a value of 10 to "10", etc.

You will be able to refer to the rawValue of the dropdown in subsequent script, just as you would with a numeric field.

If you want to go with the numeric field, you could set up a Javascript in its exit event: