Expand my Community achievements bar.

using an array with a function

Level 2

Hi all,

I'm working on an order form where users choose a course they want to order from a drop-down list, then enter the number of licences they require. I'm trying to build in a 'volume-based' discount model the form, and would like to ask for some help in using arrays and how to use them in functions. I'm very new to this, and would appreciate any help you can provide!

Basically, we have 3 products that can be ordered on the same form, and all have different discount models (i.e you get a different % discount for different numbers of licences ordered, depending on the course chosen). I'm storing the discount models in 3 separate two-dimensional arrays, then want to create a function that takes two parameters - the name of the array and the volume that the customer orders - to calculate the appropriate discount. I would then call the function on the change events of either the drop down list or the licence qty field.

Below is my attempt so far (only one array here, but the others are the same syntax). This is held in a script object called DiscountCalculator in the form. The idea of the function is to loop through the array until it finds the correct course, then loop through the value field until it finds the correct discount:

//code holds the discount model for each course in a 2 dimensional array. A new array is needed for each course.

//Course 1

var

Course1Array = new Array(3);

Course1Array[0]

= new Array(2);

Course1Array[0][0]

= "49";  //'breakpoint' at which discount is applied

Course1Array[0][1]

= "0";   //discount % given for this no of licences

Course1Array[1]

= new Array(2);

Course1Array[1][0]

= "99";

Course1Array[1][1]

= "20";

Course1Array[2]

= new Array(2);

Course1Array[2][0]

= "199";

Course1Array[2][1]

= "25";

function

CalculateDiscount(CourseArray, value){

for

(var i = 0; i <= CourseArray.length; i++)

{

if

(value <= CourseArray[i][0])

{