Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.
SOLVED

Turning off borders on form fields for printing

Level 2

Is it possible to turn off the borders (or set the color to "none") on form fields when printing a form?  I'd rather the only the data, but not the border boxes, print.

I did have a look at the XML source and I suspect it's possible, but I'm a LC newbie.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

No problem! I just going through a couple of things (you might already have these sorted, so please forgive me, but just in case).

You don't need to go near the XML Source that often (if at all). Sometimes it is handy if you want to change multiple occurrences of a string (with find and replace).

Firstly set up your workspace, something like below.

07-05-2009 19-06-54.png

You will need to have the panels open (Layout, Object, Border, Font, Paragraph,Hierarchy, Script Editor, etc.).

I have set up a field "recipientName" and inserted the prePrint script. Note the drop down list of events that you can choose from. Also note that you can select between two languages Javascript and Formcalc.

07-05-2009 19-17-40.png

This is the Script Editor, it is a very important interface, where you can insert script for your form objects. You can access it from the Window menu (or clicking Control + Shift + F5). When you have it open, drag the bottom bar to make it a decent size for viewing and editing script.

The same approach is used to put the "visible" script in the postPrint event.

All of this is done from within the main LC design view, without touching XML source itself. What you are trying to achieve here requires access to deep level properties of the object. For "normal" scripting for an object, you would not need the fully resolved name.For example:

recipientName.rawValue = "Niall";