Expand my Community achievements bar.

Turning layers on and off with buttons....

Level 1

I have created a PDF that contains some 3D content, and am trying to control layer visibility with buttons, and pull down menus.

Is it possible to have pull down menus and buttons control the visability of layers?

If so...please explain how...I am brand new to LC and am having trouble getting things to work

Thanks!

Dean

6 Replies

Level 1

Thanks for the link to the tutorial. This gets me half a step closer. Tim Huff is hiding image boxes. I need to show and hide layers in the Scene Tree. I don't know anything about scripting. Is this possible? I would think it should be...just don't know where to begin.

TIA

Dean

Level 1

Yes it is possible to do with JavaScript. I have a document that hides and shows pages as well as subforms in my document I am using checkboxes and sometimes dropdowns to do the hiding and showing. Its kind of hard for me to explain, if you have the file attached to the thread I can look at it and possibly help. If not I can try to maybe paste code with instructions on how to use it.

Level 1

UsualoO,

Thanks for the reply and willingness to help! I have attached a PDF with the interface we are wanting to use...its a work in progress. I tried to output a PDF with the actual geometry, but the filesize was over the 5 meg limit, so I deleted all the original geometry and created 3 different primitives.

If you click the "Model Tree On/Off" radio button, you will see there are 3 layers. Each of the layers have a different primitive. Each of these layers represent a different "Weatherhood".  I will have to set up a different drop down menu for each of the other buttons..."Filter", "Heating", ect.

My end goal is to be able to select (in the drop-down menu) which weatherhood to show on the model. Then, depending on which weatherhood they choose, have the radio buttons on the lower left part of the PDF display options for the specified weatherhood.