Expand my Community achievements bar.

Submiting form data to SQL server

Level 1

Hello!

1st of all i'm new in livecycle and would like some advice:

Im trying to save data from a livecycle form to a SQL server database.

I made a simple example form with few fields, with no restrictions etc.

I created a simple db with only 1 table with few fields, also with no restrictions.

I created a data source in System DSN  with SQL Native Client driver named 'ControlConnection':

Microsoft SQL Native Client Version 09.00.5000

Data Source Name: ControlConnection
Data Source Description: sql conection
Server: EXCHANGE
Use Integrated Security: No
Database: Control
Language: (Default)
Data Encryption: No
Trust Server Certificate: No
Multiple Active Result Sets(MARS): No
Mirror Server:
Translate Character Data: Yes
Log Long Running Queries: No
Log Driver Statistics: No
Use Regional Settings: No
Use ANSI Quoted Identifiers: Yes
Use ANSI Null, Paddings and Warnings: Yes

Then i went in Livecycle Designer > Data View > New Data Connection and selected OLEDB Database named the new connection also 'ControlConnection'.

In datalink properties selected Microsoft OLE DB Provider for ODBC Drivers, on datasource name selected the connection i've created before 'ControlConnection' , selected the table (named 'test') from the db and then bound the fields from the form to it.

the submit button is set like this: Show: Click, Language: JavaScript, Run At: Client and the script is: xfa.sourceSet.test.addNew();

Everything seems to work fine but when i go in preview and push the submit button i get this error:

GeneralError: Operation failed.
XFAObject.test:1:XFA:form1[0]:#subform[0]:Button1[0]:click
Invalid property get operation; packet doesn't have property 'test'

Where am i mistaking?

Please help me!

6 Replies

Former Community Member

The code that opens the DB.....

xfa.sourceSet.test.addNew();