Expand my Community achievements bar.

Show/hide Dropdownlists

Level 1

Hi,

I am rather new at FormCalc and designing PDF forms, I have done some with calculation etc. and I am trying to figure out the right formula for my current project. I am working on a sale form. there are different kinds of buildings, (e.g Playhouse, ValueLine, Lofted Barn) and depending on what type of building, the options are different. So what I would like to have on this form is one dropdownlist to start with, and depending which kind of building is chosen, will make a second dropdownlist available with only the options for that kind of building. For example: Value Line building is chosen, so a second drop down list appears with only the options for Gable or Gambrel roof.

I have been messing with some functions like this:

OptionsList1.presence = "hidden"

if (BldgType == "1")

then OptionsList1.presence = "visible"

elseif (BldgType == "2")

then OptionsList1.presence = "visible"

And so on.

I am sure this is amateur for most of you but I would really appreciate the help!!

Thanks!

4 Replies

Level 10

Hi,

A couple of things:

• You are missing an 'endif' on the last line to close the if statement.
  • The script generally looks good, but if the objects are in different subforms then the reference may not be full enough. When in the script editor you can hover the mouse over the object that you want to reference. Press and hold Control and the mouse will change into a 'V'. Click on the object and LC Designer will insert as full a reference as is needed into your script.
  • Check that you have set the language to FormCalc in the script editor.
  • Check which event you used. For a dropdown I would use the exit event.
  • If the script is in the BldgType object, then I would use 'if ($ == "1")'. $ is equal to the value of the object that the script is in (eg its own value).
  • Check that the form is saved as a Dynamic XML form in the save as dialog.