Expand my Community achievements bar.

Script to add a new page in LiveCycle

Level 1

I am new to LiveCycle so please forgive my ignorance. I have 2 things I am trying to do.

1. In my fillable form, I want to have default text in the the form field that appears in light gray and disappears automatically when a user clicks in the field to enter text. I know how to add a default but then my user would have to erase the default to add their own information. I don't know if this is an easy thing or if it needs scripting.

2. I created a button and I want to add JavaScript to it to have it copy the second page of my form and add it as a third page to be filled out too. I don't want to send a form with a bunch of extra pages so I want my users to create new pages as necessary. I know how to view the script editor and I added some script, but it doesn't appear to be correct as I don't get the green or red icons to attach the script to the button and when previewed, the button does nothing. I chose on Click and I understand that the script creates a path to my object with a period in between each object, but I don't understand after the instanceManager.addInstance(true) what I should put. What does the "true" part mean. I thought that I would put the name of the object that I wanted added. Am I close to doing this right or is it much more complicated? Does my button have to be in a subform with the objects or something to work? Am I trying to do something that is possible?

I wish I could printscreen to this forum.

2 Replies

Level 6

For each of the fields that you like to have default value displayed and get cleaned on entry you can have following JS script in "enter" event....

if (this.rawValue == "<default value for that particular field>") {

this.rawValue = ""

}

and for "exit" event....

if (this.isNull) {

this.rawValue = "<default value for that particular field>"

}

Hope tha helps with the first issue....