Expand my Community achievements bar.

saveXML() wont work for text object

Level 1

Hi all,

I am pretty new with LiveCycle and I have faced my first problem on the coding side.

I have attached two screenshots where you can see what I am trying to do.

On first sreenshot I am using the code  snipplet

xfa.form.FormElement.Subform.TextField1.rawValue = xfa.form.FormElement.Subform.TextField2.saveXML('pretty');

and trying to write a xml output in textfield1. It works.
Second one is trying to do the same but this time a text object is used instead of a textfield.
xfa.form.FormElement.Subform.TextField1.rawValue = xfa.form.FormElement.Subform.Text1.saveXML('pretty');
The code delivers an empty xml. Should I call some method to initialise the text object on some level, so I can get an xml output for this object?

Thanks in advance,

Koray

1.PNG2.png

6 Replies

Level 10

Hi Koray,

The text object is static and does not take part in XML import/export/save.

If you want it to be part of the XML data processing, you could change it to a textfield object and then in the Object > Value palette, set its value and (more importantly) set its access to Read Only.

Also in the Object > Binding palette, you should make sure that the binding is set to Name (or Normal, depending on which version of LC Designer you are using). A global binding will also work, anything other than None.

Hope that helps,

Niall

Former Community Member

Koray

Maybe you shoudl describe what you are trying to do ...most people do not work with saveXML .....there might be a better/easier way.

Paul

Level 1

Niall, Paul thanks for the prompt answer!

@Niall: Your solution works fine but since I will have a long and formatted text, that I want to personalize I can't use it.