Expand my Community achievements bar.

Printing color forms in black and white

Level 3

We have forms that utilize a lot of color.  Our client is asking that these forms only print in black and white when the form is accessed by the customer.  However, the customers have color printers ;-)....  Is there a programmatic way to print in grayscale when the customer clicks the print button?

Thanks,

Elaine

7 Replies

Former Community Member

Most print drivers will expose that as an option that the user can select but I do not believe the Acrobat Print Command exposes that in the print call...but I am not a print expert. In the Javascript reference for Acrobat (not Designer) there is a Print Params object where a number of other settings can be used to control the printer. This object can be passed into the Print command. You might find something there that will do the job for you.

Paul

Level 10

There are prePrint and postPrint events you could use to change the color;

prePrint

this.oldFillColor = this.ui.oneOfChild.border.fill.color.value;
this.ui.oneOfChild.border.fill.color.value = "255,255,255";

postPrint

this.fillColor = this.oldFillColor;
this.oldFillColor = null;

If you have color borders you would have to do a similar thing (changing them to gray);

this.oldFillLinearColor = this.border.fill.resolveNode("#linear").color.value;

this.border.fill.resolveNode("#linear").color.value = "196,196,196";

and

this.border.fill.resolveNode("#linear").color.value = this.oldFillLinearColor;

Level 3

I tried the prePrint and postPrint code but it turned the form black... I will continue to research.

I also checked out the adobe acrobat javascript reference andit doesn't seem to work in livecycle.  For example, this is unknown in LC:

this.getPrintParams();

Any other thoughts or suggestions appreciated!

Thanks!

Elaine

Former Community Member