Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

New to FormCalc, Complex If/Then?

Level 2

Hello all,

I'm completely new to FormCalc (having plenty of Excel and Filemaker Pro formulaic experience) and am working on a form with a relatively simple function:

(I.) Drop-down list of 24 unique items

(II.) Each of those items correlates to one of 10 options

(III.) The user needs to select one of the 24 unique items and the appropriate correlated item needs to autofill in a series of fields.

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWX

I have the FormCalc guide open and can follow the if/then/elseif syntax and daisy chain the above, but before I do that I want to ask: "Is there a more simple and elegant way?"

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

you can also use bound items for this purpose.

1. Activate them in the binding tab

2. change the value for each element to the one which should be displayed later in the fields (same values for several elements are possible).

3. use this script in the change:Event of the dropdown box:

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

you can also use bound items for this purpose.

1. Activate them in the binding tab

2. change the value for each element to the one which should be displayed later in the fields (same values for several elements are possible).

3. use this script in the change:Event of the dropdown box:

Level 2

Simple and elegant!

Thanks, radzmar!

Level 2

Follow-up question: Would you happen to know how to expand the tool window so that the entirety of the Value and Text columns are visible?

The Object Library tool window expands and adapts, but Object, Accessibility, Border, Layout and all their sub-tabs stay the same size regardless.

Level 2

Hmm... I may have spoken too soon.