Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Make text fit TextField

Level 1

Hi

I'm new at this and do have a major (to me) prob.

I'm using LC Designer ES ver. 8.2.

I want font size to schrink as I type in a TextField, so the text allways fit and fill in a fixed sized TextField with multiline. I know how to make the TextField match the text, but I want it the other way around.

Going mad soon.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 2

hi,

i am using LiveCycle Designer Version 8.0, i think the same should work in E.S version also which you specified, but try this way,

To shrink the text to the text field,

Select the Text Field and then go to Font Pallete,

in the Font Pallete we have options like

Edit Caption and Value

Edit Caption

Edit Value

Select Edit Value Option and then Set Size equal to 0 and Baseline Shift equal to 0pt.

note: '0'--Zero

Then test the form with some data.

Thanks,

Madhu.

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 2

hi,

i am using LiveCycle Designer Version 8.0, i think the same should work in E.S version also which you specified, but try this way,

To shrink the text to the text field,

Select the Text Field and then go to Font Pallete,

in the Font Pallete we have options like

Edit Caption and Value

Edit Caption

Edit Value

Select Edit Value Option and then Set Size equal to 0 and Baseline Shift equal to 0pt.

note: '0'--Zero

Then test the form with some data.

Thanks,

Madhu.

Level 1

Thanks, that worked fine. Do you have a solution for fitting text in an EditField without multiline too? (greedy)

I'm totally new at this (3 days now) and have had a big figth with solving it with a script - with no luck so far :-(

Level 4

Thanks tons for the info!  Huge help!

Level 3