Expand my Community achievements bar.

Learn about Edge Delivery Services in upcoming GEM session
SOLVED

JavaScript/FormCalc Calculating Total Sum

Former Community Member

Hi, I am building a fillable PDF payment form with LCD and have run into a problem with calculating the sum. I have a 10-Rows table where people can fill-in the prices and I have a another "Total Amount" box that I wish will automaticlly add up the total sum of all the prices. However, after spent nearly an entire week of trying, I can not get it to work....

I am a newbie at this and as of now, I have tried renaming the price boxes into "price1, price2, price3..." and used "Sum=(amount[Price1, Price2, Price3...])" in the Script Editor and I have tried with both languages(javascript/formcalc)..... but everytime when I go to preview, it either tells me that there is an error or the formula just doesn't do anything at all.... I don't understand where did I do wrong. It seems to me that I have done everything suggested on the discussions

Please do help if you can and THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!

PS: How do I upload the file?? it would be much easier to understand what I mean if you can see the form yourself.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 7

From that error message it seems your fields are not in a table, rather just numericfields in a subform. The scripting above will only work in a table. If you just have fields the calculation is just (in formcalc):

$ = price1 + price2 + price3 etc.

If the rest of the fields are in a table and just the calcuation field is not then the calculation needs to be:

$ = sum(TableName.Row2[*].price)

but you need to rename your fields either in the Hierarchy on the left-hand side of your screen or in the Object >Binding > Name tab on the right-hand side. The field in the error message above is called NumericField1[5].

View solution in original post

5 Replies

Level 7