Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Inputting a formula

Level 2

Im new to acrobat and formcalc.  i'm trying to create a formula which looks like this on excel =66+ (13.7*numericfield1)+(12.7*numericfield2)-(6.8*numericfield3)

if anyone can help me that would be much appreciated

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

If you select the field/object that you want the answer to appear in. Then go to the Script Editor (available from the Window menu if not already open). There is a dropdown where you can select the event that you want to script in, in this case the calculate event.

Your script is close. If you are using FormCalc, then this should work:

$ = 66 + (13.7 * numericfield1) + (12.7 * numericfield2) - (6.8 * numericfield3)

The syntax is slightly different if you are using JavaScript:

this.rawValue = 66 + (13.7 * numericfield1.rawValue) + (12.7 * numericfield2.rawValue) - (6.8 * numericfield3.rawValue); 

Hope that helps,

Niall

Assure Dynamics

View solution in original post

9 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

If you select the field/object that you want the answer to appear in. Then go to the Script Editor (available from the Window menu if not already open). There is a dropdown where you can select the event that you want to script in, in this case the calculate event.

Your script is close. If you are using FormCalc, then this should work:

$ = 66 + (13.7 * numericfield1) + (12.7 * numericfield2) - (6.8 * numericfield3)

The syntax is slightly different if you are using JavaScript:

this.rawValue = 66 + (13.7 * numericfield1.rawValue) + (12.7 * numericfield2.rawValue) - (6.8 * numericfield3.rawValue); 

Hope that helps,

Niall

Assure Dynamics

Level 2

Just a follow up question, how do i make the field = zero or empty when there's no data in the previous fields??

Level 10

Hi,

You would need to wrap the calculation in an if statement.

This is going to be messy, because I'm not online: