Expand my Community achievements bar.

How to uncheck checkboxes when a is empty - or how to not calculate non values

Level 1

I have 2 numeric fields. When one field is greater than or equal to the second field a checkbox is checked. When the field is empty, what code do you use to ensure the checkbox is unchecked???

So far I'm using the following if statement using FormCalc and the calculation drop-down:

if (NumericField14 >= NumericField15) then

this.rawValue = 1;

else

this.rawValue = 0;

endif

So by default it looks like this:

uncheck by default.png

How do you get the statement to not count non-values or nulls?? I've tried adding the following null statement in but I get an error message:

(theField.isNull | theField == "")

Any help is appreciated!

5 Replies

Level 1

I tried this.rawValue to set a checkbox value and it worked.

Regarding this code line:

(theField.isNull | theField == "")

I can spot a few errors, although I'm not a Javascript expert:

1) You probably meant to use the logical or operator, which is ||, not |. You can.literally use the word 'or' also.

2) The first check theField.isNull is written in a very short C-specific fashion, but I'm not sure it works in Javascript. Try using the full form: theField.isNull == null.

3) The second check should be theField.rawValue not theField. You did use the rawValue property yourself when writing this.rawValue, and it looks like you get an error (no defauly property) if you don't specify one.

It appears to me after some testing that theField.isNull == null would be the right choice. The second one only applies if you explicitly assign the empty string to the field.

Level 1

Thank you TudorCT for the response and testing. Thank you for explaining the errors and the full form of the null statement, it's appreciated.

I'm a beginner in coding. Could you tell me where I would insert your statement "theField.isNull == null" in my if statement?

Screen shot.png