Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

how to make text field visible depending on two groups of radio buttons?

Level 1

How to make radio buttons make text field visible depending on two groups of radio buttons?  I am very new to JavaScript and need some guidance.  I am creating a PDF form using LiveCycle Designer ES3, I have two questions both with Yes/No answers using radio buttons. The radio buttons are on different groups.  I need a text field to be visible if both answers are No and if any answers are switched to Yes then make the text field invisible.  So far I have the following but I know it is not right. Your help is appreciated.

Lets say I named one group of radio buttons mulChoice1 and the other mulChoice2 and the text field as textField. I entered the code on the click* event, should this be here or on the exit* event?  (I know I need to change when I place it in the mulChoice2 group.)  I did bind the answers, Yes = 1 and No = 2.

//if no is clicked then make text field visible

if (this.rawValue == "2") {

if (Page1.Content.mulChoice2.rawValue == "2" ) {

Page1.Content.textField.presence = "visible";

} else if (this.rawValue == "1") {

Page1.Content.textField.presence = "invisible";

}

else (this.rawValue == null) {

}

Thanks again for any help.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 1

MinusZero Thank you for the guidance, I used the following code and it works as it should. In addition, I only had to place the code in each of the radio button groups not on each radio button. 

if (Page1.Content.mulChoice1.rawValue == "2" & Page1.Content.mulChoice2.rawValue == "2")

{

}

else if (Page1.Content.mulChoice1.rawValue == "1" || Page1.Content.mulChoice2.rawValue == "1")

{

}

View solution in original post

3 Replies

Level 7

Hi,