Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.

How to make a subform expand AND contract?

Level 4

Newbie here. Maybe I'm approaching this from the wrong direction. Hopefully someone can provide me with the proper method.

I have created a series of subforms which I'd like to initially display as hidden with only a "header/button" visible for each subform. Each subform visible/invisible header object is a button which, when run, should give the form a cascading tab effect. What I'd LIKE to see happen is this: When the user clicks the button, the subform becomes visible, pushing all other header object buttons further down. However, when the visible subform button is pushed again, the subform content becomes invisible and the subform collapses back to the original form (with all user provided content remaining intact, but that's not the issue here). The problem is that I can "sort of" get this to work using the xxx.presence = "visible"/"invisible" method, but upon invoking the "invisible" part, the space where the content was showing still remains; the subform doesn't collapse.

A related issue with this is: If I use a checkbox, the result is as I described above. But if I use a button, the subform opens but all the objects in it remain invisible.

Is that the proper way to achieve this? Indeed, can a collapsible subform retain input data? I haven't even got that far yet. :-)

Thanks!

Graham

7 Replies

Level 4

As my English friend would say, "That's brilliant!"

Thanks Paul, all the scripting language possibilities are new to me.

Graham

Level 4

...any thoughts on why it works as a check box, but not as a button?

As a button, the subform expands, but the content doesn't render.

Graham

Former Community Member

I woudl have to see the form to see what was happening. Can you post your form?

Paul

Level 4