Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

How to configure channels with Spring-Flex?

Level 2

Newbie here trying to get my first Flex/BlazeDS app up and running.   I'm using the Spring-Flex integration and believe I have properly configured my servet and remoting destinations.  My only remaining questions relate to how to configure the channels.

The use of the Spring/BlazeDS integration means that I do not have to have a remoting-config.xml file anymore.  But it the documentation is unclear as to whether I need to configure my channels within a services-config.xml file still.

If I do need a services-config.xml file (and I think I do), how does one get away without hard coding the server URL?  I've seen samples on the web like:

url="https://\{server.name\}:\{server.port\}/flex2gateway/cfamfsecure"

But I don't get when/where/what does the dynamic substituion?  They almost look like Maven or Spring properties, but they can't be.  Is this just something that has to be manually changed after installation?

Finally, I really don't like the idea of compiling the Flex client against a server-side configuration file as I have seen suggested on the web.  How would one go about have the Flex client discover - or otherwise figure out what it needs to do dynamically?

Sorry for the multi-question post....thanks for any help!

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 3

You do need to configure a channel set, but you have the option of doing that in your Flex client code rather than in the services-config.xml file. Here's some information on some ways to do that:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/LiveCycleDataServicesES/3.1/Developing/WSc3ff6d0ea77859461172e0811f00f6e...

Look at the section called "Configuring channels on the client".