Expand my Community achievements bar.

Guidelines for the Responsible Use of Generative AI in the Experience Cloud Community.
SOLVED

How to calculate an automatically increasing number on a form

Level 1

I know this has been asked multiple times, but after googling for an answer, I still can't figure out exactly how to accomplish this task. I'm completely new to the program and know very little coding, so if you can help, please explain in baby steps.

My company is trying to use LiveCycle to create a form for Work Orders. However, every time we open up the form to fill a work order out, we need the next incremental number to show up and be registered by the response sheet. We're starting from 20,000 and going up from there. Does anyone know how to solve this issue? It's the only thing keeping us from using these forms currently!

Thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

Hi,

No, LC Designer ES is just one component within the Enterprise Suite - there are many more components. The Enterprise Suite is a server based product that can be used to set up workflows. More info on the Adobe website.

With LC Designer ES you can create forms that can be used standalone or that can connect to a database.

The solution I gave would not be user entered. You would start off the form with a Works Order number of 2000 and the script would automatically add a 1 each time it was opened.

However looking at your setup I can see that this is not going to work.

The next choice is to base the Works Order numbers on a number that is generated from the current date and time.

The sample here has two examples: https://acrobat.com/#d=7MTJmmhWCVSfQQir3XwxXQ

The first sets the reference number when the Name field is not null. The second reference number is set when the form is opened. I think the first option would suit you better. The number will be sequential.

Acrobat.png

Note that you can shorten this if necessary - just showing an option.