Expand my Community achievements bar.

July 31st AEM Gems Webinar: Elevate your AEM development to master the integration of private GitHub repositories within AEM Cloud Manager.

How do I create a "Delete Page" button?

Level 1

I am making a pdf that auto populates several other pages with data that is entered on the first page. I want to create a button that will delete a specified page if it is not needed. I want the button on page 1. Basically:

When this button on page one is clicked, I want it to delete (or hide) page 3.

(I'm a total newbie, so keep that in mind.)

7 Replies

Former Community Member

Ok i'll try to make it simple for you.

first of all, open the script editor. To achieve this, go in the Palettes' menu and click on Script Editor (or press Ctrl + Shift + f5).

This screen will appear :

scripteditor.png

Now click on your button.

In the Show: drop down menu, select the click event :

clickevent.png

This is the place where you tell livecycle what happens when this button is clicked.

The code you want to write in it is the one to hide the page3. so what you first want to do, is to find the complete path to reach Page3.

To achieve this, look at your hierarchy tab, it should look like this :

hierarchy.png

In the script editor you write your code, first you write the path of your page. In my case, it would be :

data.Page2

Then, you have to say what you want it to do :

data.Page2.presence = "hidden"

This command means that your page will be hidden. To make sure this syntax will be correct, verify on the top right corner of your script editor if the language is FormCalc. If not, put it to FormCalc.

You can then do a Syntax Check syntaxcheck.png to make sure you didn't made any typing mistakes.

I'd say this is all you need to do to hide your page. If you have any other questions you just have to ask!

Max

Level 1

I greatly appreciate the help! However, I still wasn't able to get it to work. Here is what I entered:

whelp!.jpg