Expand my Community achievements bar.

July 31st AEM Gems Webinar: Elevate your AEM development to master the integration of private GitHub repositories within AEM Cloud Manager.

How can I combine 200+ XDP (XML) files into one spreadsheet or database for analysis?

Level 1

Hi all,

I've got 200+ XDP files that were created by entering data into a LiveCycle PDF form 200+ times and then exporting the data as XDP 200+ times.

Now, I want to view all the data at once (for example, in an Excel Spreadsheet or database) so I can look for trends in the data or come up with a summary (for example, 180 of 200 responses answered Question 1 'Yes'). The form does have some image fields, but I don't need to see or analyse those fields.

I'm a bit of a newbie. Is there an easy way to do this? Thanks!

- John

5 Replies

Former Community Member

The XDP is an XML format so you shodul be able to write a program to extract the values that you want. You coudl potentially make a comma delimited format then import it into Excel for analysis.

I have not written a program like that but I know it can be done.

Paul

Level 1

I had a similar goal to gather data from a folder full of XDPs into a spreadsheet to track user behaviors, capture commonly entered values, and run reports.

If you are familiar with Python, I highly recommend creating a simple script using Python 2.6 and the elementTree (effbot.org) libraries.

Since I cut my teeth on this project, I found it helpful to break down the script's tasks into individual parts. The material and examples for getting a folder's contents, writing variables in lists, and using elementtree is as terrific as it is scattered in location and diverse in implementation.

1. Grab an xdp in your directory ( for book in path: )

2. Parse the xml by using the elementtree iterator

3. Assign your element's values to variables during iteration

if element.name == 'dataNode':

variable = element.text