Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

HELP! How to limit numerical range with a cell.

Level 1

Hi,

I'm VERY new to Livecycle Designer ES.

I'm trying to create a simple calibration form, and need to limit the input in a cell to a specified numerical range.

Example:

Cell 1Cell 2
ToleranceFinal Reading after calibration
1.35-1.47 VrmsThis value must be within 1.35-1.47  <--this is what I need to limit!

It would be nice to have an error window popup explaining the error, but not required.

Thanks in advance for you help!

Bryan

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

Under the Validation event for your field, in the script editor insert the following:

this.rawValue>=1.35 && this.rawValue<=1.47;

Then to set what you want as an error message, just go to the Object pallette. Under the 'Value' tab at the bottom you can type in your error message in the 'Validation Script Message'. Checking that Error checkbox is just the difference between the icon that shows up in your error window.

Hope this helps.

Kyle

View solution in original post

2 Replies

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

Under the Validation event for your field, in the script editor insert the following:

this.rawValue>=1.35 && this.rawValue<=1.47;

Then to set what you want as an error message, just go to the Object pallette. Under the 'Value' tab at the bottom you can type in your error message in the 'Validation Script Message'. Checking that Error checkbox is just the difference between the icon that shows up in your error window.

Hope this helps.

Kyle

Level 1

Thanks very much Kyle!

That did the trick.

Bryan