Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

generate a process which generates pdfoutput

Level 2

Hi

i want to automate generating pdf with output..

until yet i call as a web service OutPutService in my dotnet application

in this application i merge a file.xdp with a file.xml. As there are several record in my file.xml the result is several file.pdf.

until yet it is ok.

But i want to automate this process by create a process in workbench.

i want this process to generatePDFOutput with file.xml and file.xdp in input and i want this process to permit me to count all the pdf file which are generated, the date of creating file and at the end of the process, it should be send an email to user that inform the user of the number of pdf generated and the date of creating.

i am a very beginner and i don't know (even with the quickstart creating process) what to do and how to begin.

i created a process with generatingpdf operation but i don't know how to count the number of pdf generated.

thanks for help

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 8

The process is long-lived and so it must be executed asynchronously. You can either:

• change the process to be short-lived using the advanced tab of the process propeties (http://livedocs.adobe.com/livecycle/8.2/wb_help/000278.html)
  • change your code to execute it asynchronously (http://livedocs.adobe.com/livecycle/8.2/programLC/programmer/help/000285.html)

View solution in original post

10 Replies

Level 10

You can loop through the number of records available in the xml file.

Create a counter variable (of type Integer) and increment the count for each PDF generation.

By default, there is a function called count which is used to find the number of nodes in the given xml. So you can also make use of that.