Expand my Community achievements bar.

Enhance your AEM Assets & Boost Your Development: [AEM Gems | June 19, 2024] Improving the Developer Experience with New APIs and Events

Flowing text from Textfield1 to textfield2

Former Community Member

New to LiveCycle but have figured out dynamif forms and textfields that flow from page 1 to the next page if needed. What I need to do is have "textfield1" fill but not expand and then as the user types, the focus needs to chane to textfield2 automatically and start filling.

There are other fields betwen "textfield1" and "textfield2" that cannot move.

I'm totally new to javascripting and just cannot figure this out. Help would be greatly appreciated, including errecting statues of you in my office.

14 Replies

Level 10

See if this helps..

https://acrobat.com/#d=1o1rXLswbe*O0UvnLCDSZA

I am checking the length of the First TextField value and if it exceeds certain number, I am setting the focus to Second TextField..

Code is in the change event of the First TextField.

Thanks

Srini

Level 7

You can also place this script in the full event of textfield1:

xfa.host.setfocus(form1.subform1.textfield2);

where form1 would be replaced with your form name and subform1 would be replaced with the name of the page that textfield2 is on.  This works no matter the font size or textfield size, but of course textfield1 must be set to not expand.

Former Community Member

Interesting question. Srini's approach works well for fields with monospaced input fonts such as Courier.

I've been experimenting with the scenario of not having to limit the amount of characters.

So far I've come up with the following (the two text fields are called f1 and f2):

//f1::full
f2.rawValue = xfa.event.fullText.replace(xfa.event.newText, "");
xfa.host.setFocus(f2);

//f2::change
if (!xfa.event.selStart)
xfa.event.change = xfa.event.prevText+xfa.event.change;

Ugly, I know, but it does the job for slow-typers.