Expand my Community achievements bar.

Entering Formulas into a PDF document???

Level 2

Hello all,

I am new at designing forms in PDF style so please bare with me if this is an ignorant question.  I am very fluent in creating documents and workbooks in excel and have basically used that in the past.  I am now trying to teach myself how to create PDF documents.  I have done some research and can not find how to enter formulas into either the text boxes or numeric boxes that i add to a document when i create one.  For instance i would like for one box to add the amount entered into other boxes so that the document will do the math for me...is this possible?

Any help will be greatly appreciated

15 Replies

Former Community Member

Definitely. I have attached a spreadsheet-like example.

Steve

Level 2

Thanks Steve!!!!  thats great info.  I do have a another question...what if i want the box to multiply/divide/average etc.?

WM

Former Community Member

The attached demonstrates the basic arithmetic functions in JavaScript and FormCalc. There is a dropdown that contains the operands (+,-,/,*) and the change event performs the calculations.

// form1.page1.subform1.operand::change - (JavaScript, client)

switch (xfa.event.change) {
    case "+":
        form1.page1.subform1.js_result.rawValue = form1.page1.subform1.a.rawValue + form1.page1.subform1.b.rawValue;
        break;
    case "-":
        form1.page1.subform1.js_result.rawValue = form1.page1.subform1.a.rawValue - form1.page1.subform1.b.rawValue;
        break;
    case "/":
        form1.page1.subform1.js_result.rawValue = form1.page1.subform1.a.rawValue / form1.page1.subform1.b.rawValue;
        break;
    case "*":
        form1.page1.subform1.js_result.rawValue = form1.page1.subform1.a.rawValue * form1.page1.subform1.b.rawValue;
        break;
    default:
        break;
}

// form1.page1.subform2.operand::change - (FormCalc, client)

if ($event.change == "+") then