Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.
SOLVED

Embedding a completed fillable PDF form as a PDF attachment to an email

Level 1

Is it possible to embed a completed fillable PDF form as a PDF attachment to an email? Those submitting the PDF may only have Adobe Reader. I have created a form, originally with Acrobat 9.0 Pro, then opened it in LiveCycle Designer, and added a submit button with the embed PDF option. It works fine for me, but not for anyone else who has tested it for me. Possibly because they don't have LiveCycle themselves? I have read through some older forums on this issue and am rather confused as to whether it's even doable for retrieving info from the general public. I am a newbie to fillable forms and LiveCycle, sorry. I have a client that really wants a form submitted in this manner and I'm not sure what to tell them. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you very much.

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 8

First, you really have the wrong forum.  PDF Generator is the server side product that converts native files (Word, Excel, AutoCAD) into PDFs.  You probably want the LiveCycle Designer forum.

Second, If you have saved the file from LiveCycle Designer as a PDF (as opposed to an XDP) then others will be able to open it as long as they have the free Reader.  To submit the data however, you will need to Reader Extend the form.

Reader Extensions will allow users with the free Reader to do things that they would normally require the full Acrobat product to do.